The current UK Arctic & Antarctic Partnership Steering Committee includes:


Prof Viv Jones, University College London (Acting Chair of the UKAAP Steering Committee)

Viv Jones is a palaeolimnologist, whose principal research focus is on high latitude lakes and how they record and respond to environmental change on a range of timescales. She is a Professor of Environmental Change at the Environmental Change Research Centre, Department of Geography at University College London.

Prof Sheldon Bacon, National Oceanography Centre

Prof Bacon is head of the National Oceanography Centre’s Marine Physics and Ocean Climate group, which is based at NOC’s two sites in Southampton and Liverpool (he is based personally in Southampton).  He is a physical oceanographer whose research interests mainly concern the measurement and modelling of the Arctic, Sub-polar North Atlantic and Antarctic oceans and climate, but he also takes an interest in aspects of glaciology, biogeochemistry, sediments, and other odds and ends.

Prof Ian Brooks, Leeds University

Professor Brooks is a Professor of Boundary Layer Processes at Leeds University. His research interests include Boundary layer Meteorology, air-sea interaction and Arctic meteorology and climate, turbulent processes.


Professor Finlo Cottier, Scottish Association for Marine Science




Professor Siwan Davies, University of Swansea

Dr Duncan Depledge, University of Loughborough

Duncan Depledge is Politics & International Studies Fellow at Loughborough University where his main research focuses on geopolitics and security in the Arctic. Before joining Loughborough in 2019, Duncan worked in the UK Parliament where he helped establish and lead the All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Polar Regions (2015-2019). He is the author of Britain and the Arctic (2018).

Prof Mary Edwards, University of Southampton

Professor Edwards is a Professor in Physical Geography within the Geography and Environemental Science at the University of Southampton. She is also adjunct faculty member at ESTES, University of Alaska and a Visiting Professor at the Ujniversity of Tromso Museum, Norway.

Dr Richard Essery, University of Edinburgh

Richard Essery is Professor of Cryosphere – Atmosphere Interactions at the University of Edinburgh and Secretary General of the International Association of Cryospheric Sciences. He has previously worked at the Met Office, the Canadian National Hydrology Research Institute and the Centre for Glaciology, Aberystwyth University.

Dr Anne Jungblut, Natural History Museum

Dr Erin McClymont, Durham University

Erin McClymont is a Professor of Palaeoclimate in the Department of Geography at Durham University. Her main interests are in the application of geochemical methods to reconstruct past climate and environmental change. Her research has included generating records of ocean-ice sheet interactions from the Arctic and Antarctic regions during the Pliocene and Pleistocene (the last ~5 million years of Earth history).

Prof David Pearce, University of Northumbria

Dr Jennifer Pike, Cardiff University




Prof Gareth Phoenix, University of Sheffield

Dr Richard Powell, Scott Polar Research Institute

Dr Clare Robinson, University of Manchester




Prof Martin Siegert, Grantham Institute for Climate Change, Imperial College London

Martin Siegert is Professor of Geosciences and co-Director of the Grantham Institute, Imperial College London. He was formerly Head of the School of GeoSciences and Assistant Principal for Energy and Climate Change at the University of Edinburgh, and director of the Bristol Glaciology Centre at the University of Bristol. At Edinburgh he led the creation of the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation (ECCI). His research interests are in the field of glaciology. He uses geophysical techniques to quantify the flow and form of ice sheets both now and in the past. Using airborne radar he has identified and located ~400 subglacial lakes, has discovered ancient preglacial surfaces hidden beneath the existing ice and has demonstrated how sub-ice water is generated and interacts with the flow of ice above. Siegert has appeared regularly on national TV and radio to discuss his research, including BBC Radio 4’s Life Scientific in August 2012. In 2007 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. He was awarded the 2013 Martha T Muse Prize in Antarctic Science and Policy.

Prof David Thomas, Bangor University

David Thomas is a marine biologist who since 1991 has focussed his research on the biogeochemistry of Antarctic, Arctic and Baltic sea ice. He has led campaigns in all these areas as well as innovative large-scale ice tank experiments. He Chaired the PAG of the NERC Arctic Research Programme and now does the same for the NERC-BMBF Changing Arctic Ocean Programme. He has edited all 3 editions of Sea Ice

Prof Gail Whiteman, Lancaster University

Prof David Vaughan, British Antarctic Survey

Ex-Officio Members:

Prof Jane Francis, Director, British Antarctic Survey

Jess Surma/ Helen Beadman, NERC Representative

Prof Mike Bentley, UKNCAR Representative



Henry Burgess, Head, NERC Arctic Office




Nicola Munro,  UKAAP Secretary, NERC Arctic Office

Stuart Doubleday, Polar Regions Department, FCO

UK Polar Network Representative

Previous Members of the Committee:

Prof Julian Dowdeswell, Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge (Chair)

Prof Klaus Dodds, Royal Holloway, University of London

Dr Ed Hawkins, National Centre for Atmospheric Science, University of Reading

Dr Stephanie Henson, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton

Dr Kate Hendry, Bristol University

Dr Ruth Hindshaw

Prof Andy Hodson, UNIS

Dr Claire Hughes, University of York

Dr Melanie Leng, British Geological Survey

Prof Tavi Murray, Swansea University

Prof Mike Meredith, BAS

Prof Colm O’Cofaigh, Durham University

Dr Jeff Ridley, MetOffice

Prof Martyn Tranter, Bristol Glaciological Centre, Bristol University

Dr Jeremy Wilkinson, British Antarctic Survey

Prof Eric Wolff, University of Cambridge

Prof Phil Wookey, Stirling University

Mike Dinn, BAS

Tun Jan Young, Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge

Dr Ray Leakey, Scottish Association for Marine Science

Dr Bart van Dongen, University of Manchester